House of Trembling Madness

There’s nothing mad about this place, except the food! This pub was recommended to me by a local which wouldn’t stop praising the simple, authentic Yorkshire food. I thought that the passion with which he was describing the place was enough to make me pay a visit. So around lunch time, we headed towards one of the most crowded streets in York to find the House of Trembling Madness.Β 

Let me tell you it wasn’t easy to find! We walked up and down that street a couple of times till we finally spotted a big glass window on which the name of the pub was written. Just to make it easier for you if you decide to go, it’s right next to the smaller Betty’s Tea Room in York. We spotted Betty’s more easily. Also, if you’re better at using a GPS than me (which you probably are), this is the address.

The ground floor is a shop with lots of alcohol and other produce but my company was so hungry that they wouldn’t let me have a look around so we headed upstairs for lunch. The place is small and has a really old, authentic feel to it. I felt like I had been thrown back in history and Β a 16th century Yorkshire man would pop in any minute. Wooden chairs and tables, velvet sofas, barell seats, burnt candless, an old chimney and a wooden chandelier made up the decor which contrasted with the nowadays folk. I always enjoy taking a step or two back in history.

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

Finally ready to order, we went through the menu quickly. The menu itself wasn’t big, no more than 10 main courses, but oh my! The amount of food that was in each main was overwhelming. My company and I looked at each and accepted the challenge thinking how hungry we were. I went for the Yorkshire platter (Yorkshire smoked ham, top tier wensleydale cheese, charcoal cheese, award winning pork pies, wold top ale pickle, apple, pickles, via vecchia bread, madness salad) and he went for the Madness platter (Yorkshire smoked chicken, duck & cheese, award winning pork pies, wold top ale plum chutney, pickles, via vecchia bread, madness salad).

Mains arrived quickly and we started tucking in. I can’t describe how beautiful each element of the dish complemented each other: the pickled chilli with the charcoal cheese (which was probably the best bit for me!) , the smoked ham with the apple, the bread with butter and chutney! I was in food heaven. He finished his platter in less than 10 minutes and I had to declare myself defeated against the amount of food that was in front of me. Guess who was happy to finish it off? You’re right: he jumped over to my platter and finished everything else in silence while eyeing me and smiling.

I was very pleased with our meal and we left the place with happy bellies. If you like giving a go to new food, then this is a place for you. It beautifully mixes English favourites and if you’re feeling cheeky, try one of the beers available at the bar. You’re in for a treat.

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

The house of trembling madness

Leave a Reply

